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Training and Reference Guide
This manual is a training and reference guide for the administration of the Housing
Credit (HC) Program. It is intended to answer questions regarding the procedures,
rules, and regulations that govern the HC projects. The manual should be used in
conjunction with, and as a supplement to, Section 42 of the Internal Revenue Code
(IRC).

Compliance monitoring by Montana Board of Housing (MBOH) will be administered

through the Multifamily Program.

If a determination is made that any provision of this manual is in conflict with Section 42
of the Internal Revenue Code, the Internal Revenue Code will govern.

The laws and regulations governing the Housing Credit (HC) Program as well as the
interpretation of these laws can and do change. Owners and Managers should keep
abreast of all changes in the Internal Revenue Code and the Code of Federal
Regulations that may affect their properties. This may require consulting qualified legal

and tax professionals for advice.

MBOH contacts for the HC Compliance Monitoring are:

Ryan Collver (406-841-2852)
rcollver@mt.gov

Rena Oliphant (406-841-2812)
roliphant@mt.qov

Brian Lundin (406-841-2848)
blundin2@mt.gov

Kellie Guariglia (406-841-2838)
kguariglia@mt.gov

Mary Bair (406-841-2845)
mbair@mt.qov

1. INTRODUCTION
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A. The Purpose of the Montana Board of Housing Compliance
Manual

This manual focuses on the responsibilities of owners and managers of all
Housing Credit (HC) properties from the beginning of the lease up period
through the end of the compliance period. HC properties are governed by
Section 42 of the Internal Revenue Code. All projects additional requirements
found in the Declaration of Restrictive Covenants for HC properties.

This manual includes links to forms MBOH is committed to providing quality
affordable housing for the citizens of Montana and it is our goal to assist owners
and managers to better understand and fulfill their obligations under the
program. Monitors dealing with organized and complete files will find far fewer
compliance issues to report to the owner and investors. This manual is intended
as a reference to promote a better understanding of the HC program. Owners
are responsible for compliance with all applicable federal and state rules and
regulations that govern their properties.

THIS MANUAL IS SUBJECT TO CHANGES AND UPDATES AT
ANY TIME.

B. The Low Income Housing Credit Program (LIHTC)

The Tax Reform Act of 1986 established and the LIHTC

C. The Credit Period (Initial Period) vs. The Compliance Period
(Extended Use Period)

Owners are liable to the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) for the initial 15-year
compliance period as credits are subject to re-capture for non-compliance
during this time. The IRS further requires compliance during an extended use
period of at least 15 years. MBOH compliance period consists of the initial 15-
year compliance period, plus at least an additional 15 years. The extended use
period for most HC properties in Montana is 31 years or longer.

D. Requlations Change Over Time

Since its creation in 1986LIHTC MBOH, Congress, and the IRS have made
several changes to the rules and regulations governing the program. It is the
responsibility of owners and managers to stay current with changes as they
ocCcur.
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2. GENERAL COMPLIANCE & SITE VISITS

The HC program is governed and regulated by the IRS. MBOH is required to
monitor each property for compliance. A project may have other sources of
funding with their own compliance requirements. When these requirements
conflict, yield to the most restrictive (check with those funding sources if you
have questions)

The IRS requires MBOH to conduct physical inspections and file audits at least
every 3 years on a sliding scale calculated on the number of units in a HC
property. Properties may be subject to more frequent inspections and audits
based on funding sources and/or MBOH discretion.

Site visits will consist of a physical inspection and file audit at each property.
The inspection is based on Uniform Physical Conditions Standards (UPCS)
guidelines and will include the property site, units, mechanical rooms, common
areas, and building exteriors. Additionally, crawl spaces, basements, roofs and
other areas may be inspected. Files will be reviewed to ensure income and rent
limits, and other rules and requirements are being adhered to. The Declaration
of Restricted Covenants and the 8609 are an important part of compliance.
These and other project records may be reviewed at the time of the site visit.

MBOH staff will contact properties by phone to schedule site visits. A
confirmation letter will be sent by email. It is imperative that MBOH be updated
on all email addresses and changes. Units will be randomly selected by the HC
monitoring software. The property must provide all tenants at least 24 hour
notice of the date and time period of the inspection. Staff will not enter any unit
unless they are accompanied by property staff; preferably a manager or
maintenance person. Units not available for inspection will be considered non-
compliant. In the event of non-compliance, a second site visit may be
scheduled and the cost for the additional visit may be billed to the property.

To claim the full amount of HC, the owner must maintain continuous compliance
with federal and state regulations throughout the compliance period. The main
components of compliance are:

e Renting to qualified households;

e For a unit to be considered HC eligible, the rent must be restricted;

e Providing decent, safe, and sanitary housing that meets the UPCS

guidelines;
e Compliance with the Fair Housing Act;

It is our goal to assist owners and managers to stay in compliance. Compliance
may be achieved through due diligence, strong internal controls, organized
files, and documentation. Notes written documenting situations not covered in
the regular process help the file to stand on its own.
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3. HC COMPLIANCE REGULATIONS

A. Compliance by Building

Compliance is a building by building issue. Records must be kept by building
and by unit number. Every building is assigned its own Building ldentification
Number (BIN). Therefore, all record keeping and reporting must be sorted and
submitted by BIN.

B. Placed-in-Service Date (PIS)

The PIS date for new construction is the date the certificate of occupancy (C of
O) is issued by the proper authority. For rehabilitation of an existing building,
the owner selects a date within a 24 month period over which rehab
expenditures are aggregated. The PIS date for each building is recorded on
IRS form 8609.

C. Minimum Set Aside

The minimum set aside is an IRS election and every tax credit property must
make a minimum set aside election. This is usually known as the 20/50 or
40/60 election and once it is made it is irrevocable.

o 20/50 — at least 20% of the total units in the property must be rent
restricted and occupied by eligible tenants

o 40/60 — at least 40% of the total units in the property must be rent
restricted and occupied by eligible tenants.

o Average income — at least 40% of the total units in the property
must have unit designations, be rent restricted and occupied by
eligible tenants, and must average 60% or less (more clarification
coming from the IRS)

D. Record Keeping Requirements

Federal regulations require the Owner of a LIHTC project to retain the following
information for each qualified building. For each year of the compliance period,
the information must show:

e The total number of residential rental units in a building (including the
number of bedrooms and the square footage of each residential rental
unit);

e The percentage of residential rental units in the building that are low-
income units, offices, and management units;

e The rent charged on each residential rental unit in the building
(including any applicable utility allowances) as well as any additional
mandatory charges to the tenant;

e The low-income unit vacancies in the building and information that
shows when, and to whom, the next available units were rented. If a
unit is left vacant, the Owner must maintain documentation showing a
diligent attempt is being made to rent the unit to a qualifying tenant.

e The annual income re-certification (if applicable) of each low-income
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tenant (by unit);

e The documentation to support each Tenant’'s Income Certification
(TIC) including application or recertification (if applicable) and
verifications;

e The character and use of any non-residential portion of the building
included in the eligible basis;

e Record of all utility allowances from PIS throughout the extended use
period;

e Copies of Form 8609 after completion by the Owner and filed with
the IRS;

E. Record Retention Requirements

The Owner must retain the above described records for the first year of the
credit period for at least 6 years beyond the due date (with extensions) for filing
the federal income tax return for the last year of the Compliance Period,
meaning the original files must be retained for at least 21 years. All other
records are required to be retained for at least 6 years beyond the due date
(with extensions) for filing the federal income tax return for that year. IRS has
approved electronic storage of these records provided they can be accessed at
any time.

F. Maximum Gross Rent

Maximum rents are calculated using the current HUD MTSP income limits.
These income limits and maximum rents are provided as a courtesy by MBOH.
It is the Owner's responsibility to verify accuracy. HC income and rent limits
are posted on the MBOH website for your convenience.

https://housing.mt.gov/Multifamilv-Development/Income-and-Rent-Limits

Gross monthly rent is equal to the total tenant paid rent plus the applicable
utility allowance plus any mandatory charges. Gross monthly rent must not
exceed the maximum rent. Charging more than the allowable rent is non-
compliance and recapture of credits may result. IRS has taken the position that
once a tenant has been overcharged for rent, the unit will not be considered
back in compliance until January 1st of the following year. If there is at least
$1.00 in subsidy, then the Gross Rent including subsidy may exceed the
Maximum Gross Rent limit.
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G. Utility Allowances

Utility allowances must be used when the tenants pay any of the utilities.
Utilities normally are items such as electric, heat, oil or gas and on occasion
water, sewer, trash. Utility allowances used are:

Public Housing Authority;

Rural Development;

Department of Commerce Section 8;

HOME or MBOH approved allowance (must be approved by MBOH
before they are implemented)

Department of Commerce Section 8 allowances can be found here:

https://housing.mt.gov/Rental-Housing/Housing-Choice-Voucher-Program/Utility-
Allowances

e Ultility allowances provided by utility providers will not be considered
or accepted.

Utility allowances must be updated at least annually. Copies of utility
allowance documentation must be submitted to MBOH if using anything other
than Department of Commerce Section 8. Realize that any changes in utility
allowances have a direct impact on the net chargeable rent to the tenant. Any
utility allowance must be implemented within 90 days of the change.

4. Additional Special HC Rules

A. Vacant Unit Rule

If a low-income unit becomes vacant during the year, the unit remains HC
qualified and eligible for the tax credit provided reasonable attempts are made
to rent the unit. This is a "project rule" not a "building rule" and thus includes all
vacant units in the project.

"Reasonable attempts" are efforts toward marketing and renting a unit. Proof of
such marketing must be available for review by MBOH staff.

B. Available Unit Rule/ 140 % Rule

If the household income for residents in a qualified unit increases to more than
140% of the current applicable income limit, the unit is considered an "over-
income unit" but may continue to be counted as a low-income unit as long as
two conditions are met.
1. The unit must continue to be rent restricted and;
2. The next comparable size or smaller unit in the building must be rented
to a qualified low-income tenant.
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The Owner of a low-income building must rent to qualified residents all
comparable units that are available or that subsequently become available in
the same building until the applicable fraction (excluding the over-income units)
is restored to the percentage on which the credit is based.

C. Relocating Existing Tenants/Unit Transfers

When an existing tenant moves to another unit within the same building or
within buildings in the same property, the status of the two units will swap. If a
qualified tenant moves to an 'empty’ (a unit never occupied by a qualified
tenant) or 'vacant' (unit previously occupied by a qualified tenant) unit, the new
unit ceases to be 'empty' or 'vacant' and becomes a qualified unit. The other
unit will then be deemed 'empty’' or 'vacant'.

The owner must have elected yes on line 8b of the completed the IRS 8609
form ("Are you treating this building as part of a multiple building project for
purposes of section 427?”) for transfers to be allowed between buildings.

, Therefore, you need to know how the owner answered the question on the
8609, line 8b.

Transfers between buildings may also affect the available unit/140% rule.

During the initial credit period, existing tenants cannot be relocated for purposes
of qualifying more than one HC unit to count toward the minimum set aside or
applicable fraction. Under no circumstances can one household be used to
initially qualify more than one tax credit unit in a project.

D. Staff Units

Revenue Ruling 92-61 [Section 13], effective September 9, 1997 allows a unit
for a full-time staff member to be considered part of a project's "common
space." Revenue Ruling 2004-82 [Section 251 further expanded staff units to
include a unit occupied by a full-time security officer for the building if the
building owner requires the security officer to live in the unit.]

Two options apply:

1. If the unit occupied by staff is actually a HC rental unit and is to be
counted as part of the qualified basis, then the staff must be a
qualified tenant.

2. If a staff unit is considered common space, the household does not
need to be qualified. The IRS has stated in the 8823 Guide, "...if the
owner is charging rent for a staff unit, the Service may determine the
unit is not reasonably required by the project and may be considered
commercial space".

The owner's HC application may have designated staff units. Staff units may be
added or removed through an approval process with MBOH.

Moving staff units around the property is not allowed without MBOH approval. A
written request must be submitted to MBOH which shows a bona fide need for
the change.
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E. Non-Transient Occupancy

"HC rental units must be for use by the general public and all of the units in a
project must be used on a non-transient basis.... generally, a HC unit is
considered to be used on a non-transient basis if the initial lease term is six
months or greater."

"In general—a unit shall not be treated as a low-income unit unless the unit is
suitable for occupancy and used other than on a transient basis." [Section
42(i)(3)(B)()]

To be in compliance, a six-month minimum lease term is required at initial
occupancy. Rehab projects with tenants in place may need to work with MBOH
on the initial HC lease if other funding sources are involved.

F. General Public/Fair Housing

All residential rental units in the project must be available for use by the general
public. HC units may not be exclusively offered to members of a social
organization or provided by an employer for its employees. "Available to the
general public" applies to all residential rental units, market, and tax credit.

HC properties are subject to Title VIII of the Civil Rights Act of 1968, also
known as the Fair Housing Act, prohibiting discrimination in the sale, rental, and
financing of dwellings based on race, color, religion, sex, national origin, familial
status, and disability.

G. Full Time Students

A student as defined by the IRS is “an individual, who during each of 5 calendar
months during a calendar year is a full-time student”. One day of attendance in
a month is considered to be a full month. The determination of full or part time
will be based on the criteria used by the educational organization.

e An educational organization is one that normally maintains a regular faculty
and curriculum and normally has an enrolled body of students at the place
where the educational activities take place. This would include K-12,
colleges, universities, technical, trade and mechanical schools; but not on-
the-job training. On-line colleges are considered to be an educational
organization.

e Even if all tenants were not full-time students at move-in, they are not
exempt from the student rule at a later date if the entire household
becomes comprised of all full-time students.

The IRS has made it clear that student status is to be monitored on a
calendar basis. An applicant would not be eligible if the person has been or
will be a full-time student for any 5 months of the calendar year, even if they
had graduated prior to applying for an HC unit.
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Households comprised solely of full-time students are not HC eligible, unless
they meet one of the exceptions stated below:

1. A student and receiving assistance under title IV of the Social Security
Act, or,;

2. A student who was previously under the care and placement
responsibility of the State agency responsible for administering a
plan under part B or part E of title IV of the Social Security Act (foster
care). (Montana has no age restriction), or;

3. A student enrolled in a job training program receiving assistance
under the Job Training Partnership Act or under other similar federal,
state, or local laws, or;

4. Single parents and their children and such parents are not
dependents (as defined in section 152) and the children are not
dependents of another individual other than the parents, or;

5. Married and eligible to file a joint tax return

Verification documenting the exception must be included in the tenant file and
must be verified on an annual basis.

H. Section 8 Voucher Holders

Section 42 states that HC properties may not refuse Section 8 certificate or
voucher holders simply based on their Section 8 status. However, this does not
assure tenant qualification.

I. Tenant Data Collection

As mandated by Congress via the Housing and Economic Recovery Act
(HERA) of 2008, HUD now requires that every state collect and submit specific
demographic and economic information to them regarding households that
reside in HC units. Some of this information is tenant specific and some is
property specific. A household is not required to supply this information. Never
guess the answer to any of this requested information.

J. Suitable for Occupancy Requirement

A unit must be suitable for occupancy or habitable in accordance with the
UPCS guidelines. If a unit is destroyed due to casualty loss (i.e., fire, flood, or
any other disaster) credits cannot be claimed while the unit is being replaced. If
the unit is restored within a reasonable time and on or before December 315t of
the current year, credits can again be claimed. HC units that are vacated must
be made ready to rent within 30 days. Otherwise, they would not be considered
suitable for occupancy and would not be eligible for credit.

Montana Board of Housing Compliance Manual Page 12




L. Recertification Requirements

IRS guidance does not require projects to re-certify every household annually if
the project is 100% HC.

MBOH requires annual student status verification on or before the anniversary
of the initial move-in date.

MBOH does require annual recertifications for properties that have chosen the
Average Income minimum set a side.

If the property is required by the owner or investor to continue to do

recertification’s or is a mixed property, the re-certifications are due on or before
the anniversary of the initial HC move-in date for the household

M. Extended Use Requirements

Compliance and monitoring requirements will not change in the extended use
period.

5. HC Common Requlations

A. Income Qualifying Households

Income qualifying households is of the utmost importance to keep a project in
compliance with federal regulations. Not only must you income qualify
households, you must be able to produce the acceptable certifications and
verifications necessary to prove they are qualified. The IRS (Section 42)
mandates that income is calculated using the Income and Asset qualification
requirements can be found in the HUD 4350.3 Chapter 5:
https://www.hud.gov/program_offices/administration/hudclips/handbooks/
hsgh/4350.3 It is the owner and manager responsibility to be aware of any
updates and changes.

B. Calculating Child Support and Alimony

Because child support and/or alimony are often a source of income, MBOH
follows the requirements of the HUD Handbook 4350.3 Chapter 5, Section 1,
Subsection 5-6, F.

Child support and alimony are issues that should be addressed at each annual
re-certification as situations can change. This only applies to properties that
are required to do full re-certifications.
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C. Changes in Household Size

Changes in the size of an existing household after initial certification must also
be addressed. Tenants who reasonably believe (or know) that they will be
adding members to their household are required to disclose this information at
the initial certification so that all relevant income sources can be considered.
For additions to the household, the property must complete a new household
member TIC and have it signed by the new household member (or their
guardian) and the manager. This along with all income verifications will be
placed in households file. The new household member and their income will be
added into Certification on Line (COL) but a new TIC does not need to be
printed and signed. The unit continues to remain qualified as long as one
original member is still living in the unit.

D. Restricted Rents

One of the key components of affordable housing is restricted rents. Over
charging of rents in a HC project may cause loss of credits This loss of credit
may happen even if it was an inadvertent mistake. For example, if there is a
utility allowance increase and it puts the tenant portion of the rent over the
maximum, you may lose credits. Housing Credit rent restrictions and
calculations are discussed in this manual at Section 3. HC Compliance, I.
Maximum Gross Rent.

E. Application for Tenancy Procedure

Your application may be your most valuable tool in the qualification process. It
will be the first document that a monitor will want to see in a file as it is the
starting point that all other documentation must support. Because the HC
program uses special definitions for income, assets, and household
composition, standard property management application forms may not collect
sufficient information to determine eligibility. @ A comprehensive housing
application is critical to the accurate identification of all necessary information
required to effectively determine household eligibility for the HC program.
MBOH does not require a specific application form be used. A face-to-face
interview with all adult household members can be very beneficial to review the
application and historical documents and clarify any discrepancies or missing
information.

F. Leases

All tenants occupying an HC unit must be qualified and under a lease no later
than the date the tenant takes possession of the unit. Leases must be a
minimum of 6 months.
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G. Uniform Physical Condition Standards (UPCS)

MBOH staff will inspect to UPCS guidelines. MBOH is responsible for
monitoring the physical condition of projects and marketability. Owners are
required to abide by all local and state codes.

MBOH will also inspect for health and safety concerns and all life-threatening

incidents will be reported to the IRS on form 8823. Non-life-threatening
concerns may also be reported depending on the severity and frequency.

H. Evictions
Pursuant to Revenue Ruling 2004-82, the owner may only evict residents for

"Good Cause" as defined by the state or local jurisdiction. Non-renewal of a
lease without good cause is also prohibited.

I. Compliance On-Line (COL)

All project owners and management companies are required to use the
MBOH’s Certification On Line (COL) system. COL is a web-based reporting
system that enables project owners and management companies to generate
the owners annual certification of continuing program compliance, Tenant
Income Certifications (TIC) and re-certifications submitted to the MBOH.

The COL system automates the reports for the annual reporting requirements
for owners & tenants. Also required is an annual compliance packet for the
assigned reporting period as described in 7B below.

Project owners and management companies using the COL system (or any
other software) to generate a TIC must still complete all the required backup
documentation for determining tenant eligibility and verifying tenant income
referenced in Chapter 5 of this manual and as required by the HUD Handbook
4350.3, Chapter 5.

e COL data input:
o Project owners and management companies are required to input into
COL occupancy and tenant information for each Housing Credit unit.
Project owners and management are responsible for ensuring the
information is current and correct.

e COL data submission:
o COL unit and tenant data and the owner’s certification of continuing
program compliance must be electronically submitted to MBOH on or
before the 25™ of the month following the assigned annual period.

o COL also enables project owners and management companies to
track tenant incomes and assets, set and manage gross rents, track
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unit move-ins and transfers, and generate TIC’s for use in resident
qualifications and re-certifications.

Instructions for using the COL system can be found on the COL site

itself. If you need further assistance, please contact a staff member
listed on page 4 of this manual.

J. Compliance Training Requirements

All persons gathering applicant information, giving applicants information, or
responsible for qualifying tenants and verifying compliance (involved in tenant
qualification and compliance) must be certified in LIHTC compliance by a
nationally recognized LIHTC compliance training company. New personnel must
complete a nationally recognized certification course and pass the test. To
maintain certification, the person must attend a class with a nationally recognized
compliance company at least once every four years.

The manager for a HC property must be trained and certified before the property

is placed in service. New managers hired for existing HC properties must be
certified according to QAP requirements.

K. Transfer of Property Ownership

An Owner must contact MBOH for information and the process to sell or
transfer any portion of ownership (change or purchase of partners, etc.) of a
Housing Credit property.

6. Non-Compliance

Non-compliance may be when the development, specific building, or unit has
failed to adhere to required regulations and procedures. These procedures may
be IRS Section 42 requirements, or MBOH requirements. Non-compliance may
lead to the issuance of an 8823 and may cause recapture or loss of credits.

7. Forms, File and Reporting Requirements

If you need a form, please contact one of the staff listed on page 4 of this
manual.

Make certain that every form is filled out in its entirety. This includes forms that
you have asked a third party to complete. Unanswered questions must be
followed up by phone, email, or fax clarification.
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A. Tenant Files

At a minimum, the following documentation must be present in a tenant file:
e Application for Housing;

Income & Asset Calculation Worksheets;

3rd Party Source Verifications;

Tenant Income Certification (TIC);

Certification of Zero Income (if applicable);

Under $5,000 Asset Certification (if applicable);

Lease (including any addendums);

Utility Allowance documentation;(if applicable)

Re-certification documentation (if applicable)

B. Annual Compliance Reporting

The following are required to be submitted to MBOH on or before the property’s
assigned report date:

MBOH Owner's Certification of Continuing Program Compliance
Current Property Information Form

Income & Expenses summary for last fiscal year

Reserves statement

HC and Fair Housing Certifications for all staff

Tenant data submitted via COL

Annual compliance fee for each non-market unit

8. Late Fees

A. Annual Compliance Package

If the Annual Compliance Package is not received by the deadline, a late
fee of $100.00 or 25% of the compliance monitoring fee, whichever is
greater, will be charged.

B. Correction of Non-Compliance

Failure to provide those corrections by the deadline will result in an initial
late fee and an additional per-week fee until all required documentation is
received. A one-time extension may be granted if a written request is
submitted to MBOH no later than 10 days prior to the deadline. If an
extension is granted and the extension deadline passes, a per-week fee
will be imposed until all required documentation is received by MBOH.

Please contact MBOH staff listed earlier on page 4 with any questions.
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