Montana Community

The Human Resource Development Councils of Montana

These strong partners exist to improve the lives of community members, especially those who face poverty or isolation.

History and Background

In 1963, shortly before he was assassinated, President John F. Kennedy had asked his economic advisors to prepare proposals to address the problem of poverty in America. President Lyndon B. Johnson continued this initiative. In his first State of the Union address, Johnson called for an unconditional war to defeat poverty and ultimately prepared the Economic Opportunity Act of 1964, which became law that same year.

The Act authorized a variety of programs including Head Start, the Job Corps, VISTA, and Community Action Agency programs. Congress slowly appropriated funding to match the Act's initiatives. Beginning in 1981, many CAA agency programs were funded through federal Community Service Block Grant (CSBG) dollars, which are awarded and monitored by state agencies.

The Community Action Agency component of this legislation was modeled on two successful urban renewal projects both of which emphasized active participation by low-income citizens.

Community Action Agencies are committed to:

  • Prioritize prevention of poverty;
  • Address the causes of poverty;
  • Involve the community;
  • Improve the community; and
  • Create opportunity.

Community Action Agency response to clients is designed to be:

  • Flexible;
  • Coordinated; and
  • Directed to long-term client development.

View larger map

Map by Montana Census & Economic Information Center 

Action for Eastern Montana

Location:  2030 North Merrill Avenue, Glendive MT 59330-1309

Mailing Address:  PO Box 1309, Glendive MT 59330-1309

Phone: (406) 377-3564

Toll Free:  1-800-227-0703

Fax: (406) 377-3570


Serving:  Carter, Custer, Daniels, Dawson, Fallon, Garfield, McCone, Phillips, Powder River, Prairie, Richland, Roosevelt, Rosebud, Sheridan, Treasure, Valley, and Wibaux counties.

Human Resource Development Council

Location:  229 5th Avenue, Havre MT 59501

Phone: (406) 265-6743

Toll Free:  1-800-640-6743

Fax:  (406) 265-1312


Serving:  Blaine, Hill, and Liberty counties.

Opportunities Inc.

Location:  905 1st Avenue N, Great Falls MT 59403-2289

Mailing Address:  PO Box 2289, Great Falls MT 59403-2289

Phone: (406) 761-0310

Toll Free:  1-800-326-0955

Fax: (406) 761-0363


Serving: Cascade, Chouteau, Glacier, Pondera, Teton, and Toole counties.

Central Montana HRDC

Location:  Suite 203 Centennial Plaza, 300 First Ave. North, Lewistown MT 59457

Phone: (406) 535-7488

Toll Free:  1-800-766-3018

Fax:  (406) 535-2843


Serving:  Fergus, Golden Valley, Judith Basin, Musselshell, Petroleum, and Wheatland counties.

Human Resource Development Council


Location: 7 N. 31st Street, Billings MT 59103

Mailing Address:  PO Box 2016, Billings MT 59103

Phone: (406) 247-4710

Toll Free:  1-800-433-1411

Fax: (406) 248-2943


Serving: Big Horn, Carbon, Stillwater, Sweet Grass, and Yellowstone counties (except that portion lying within 10 miles of the City of Billings).

Rocky Mountain Development Council


Location:  200 South Cruise Avenue, Helena MT  59601

Mailing Address:  PO Box 1717, Helena MT  59624-1717

Phone:  (406) 447-1680

Toll Free:  1-800-356-6544

Fax:  (406) 447-1629


Serving:  RMDC primarily services Lewis & Clark, Broadwater, and Jefferson counties. Individual programs within the agency provide services in additional counties predominantly throughout southwestern Montana.

Region 9 HRDC

Location:  32 South Tracy Avenue, Bozeman MT 59715

Phone: (406) 587-4486

Toll Free:  1-800-332-2796

Fax:  (406) 585-3538


Serving:  Gallatin, Meagher, and Park counties.

Community Action Partnership of Northwest Montana


Location:  214 Main St., Kalispell, MT 59904

Mailing Address:  PO Box 8300, Kalispell, MT 59904

Phone: (406) 758-5477

Toll Free:  1-800-344-5979

Fax: (406) 257-7283


Serving:  Flathead, Lake, Lincoln, and Sanders counties.

Human Resource Council


Location:  1801 South Higgins, Missoula MT 59801

Phone:  (406) 728-3710

Fax:  (406) 728-7680

Branch Office:  303 N. Third Street, Hamilton, MT 59840

Phone:  (406) 728-3710

Fax:  (406) 728-7680


Serving:  Mineral, Missoula, and Ravalli counties.

Human Resource Council


Location:  700 Casey Street, Butte, MT 59701

Mailing Address:  PO Box 3486, Butte, MT 57901

Phone: (406) 533-6855

Toll Free:  1-800-382-1325

Fax:  (406) 533-6883


Serving:  Beaverhead, Deer Lodge, Granite, Madison, Powell and Silver Bow counties.

Return to HOMEBUYERS Information        Return to HOMEOWNERS Information        Return to RENTERS Information        Return to MULTIFAMILY HOUSING DEVELOPMENT Information        Return to COMMUNITY PARTNER Information        Return to INVESTORS Information

301 S. PARK AVE, STE 240 | PO BOX 200528 | HELENA, MT 59620-0528 | P: 406.841.2840 | F: 406.841.2841 | TDD: 406.841.2702 | TOLL FREE: 800.761.6264